past winners of The relentless award


2016 Winner of The Relentless Award: Alesha HarrisPhoto credit: Costantino Ciminiello and Andrew Wofford.2016 Winner of The Relentless Award

The American Playwriting Foundation is thrilled to announce that the Second Annual Relentless Award, presented in honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman, will be given to:

Is God Is by Aleshea Harris

2016 Finalists

Recent Alien Abductions by Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas

The Treasurer by Max Posner

2016 Semifinalists

The Art of Gaman by Dipika Guha

Laura and the Sea by Kate Tarker

Ready Steady Yeti Go by David Jacobi

Tom & Eliza by Celine Song

White History by Dave Harris

2016 Honorable Mentions

Advance Man by Abe Koogler

Bhuta Kala by Nathaniel Shapiro

Charleses by Carl Holder

Between Misery and the Sun by Mady Schutzman

Brunch by Maya Macdonald

Evanston Salt Costs Climbing by Will Arbery

Great White by Deborah Yarchun

If Pretty Hurts Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka by Tori Sampson

Kin Folk by William Glick

NC-17 by Rodney Hicks

Spare Rib by Winter Miller

That Poor Girl and How He Killed Her by Jen Silverman

Trees in their Youth by Dominic Finochiarro

Viv is for Vengeance by Lindsey Hope Pearlman


2015 Winner of The Relentless Award

2015 Winner of The Relentless Award: (left) Sarah DeLappe, (right) Clare BarronThe American Playwriting Foundation gave the First Annual Relentless Award to:

Dance Nation by Clare Barron

The Wolves by Sarah DeLappe

After being deadlocked our judges enthusiastically embraced the idea of these two wildly talented writers sharing the award.

2015 Finalists

‪#‎bros‬ by Jake Jeppson

Radio Island by Liza Birkenmeier

2015 Semifinalists

Br'er Cotton by Tearrance Chisholm

Collective Rage, A Play in Five Boops... by Jen Silverman

Co-Op by Matthew Stephen Smith

Hannah and the Dread Gazebo by Jiehae Park


© 2015 The American Playwriting Foundation