Play Selection Committee

Eric Bogosian

Thomas Bradshaw

David Bar Katz

Dominique Morisseau

Lynn Nottage

John Ortiz

Jonathan Marc Sherman

Lucy Thurber

Artistic Advisors

Peter DuBois

Scott Elliott

Robert Falls

Mandy Greenfield

Ethan Hawke

Dan Klores

Dominique Morisseau

Gregory Mosher

Austin Pendleton

David Quinn

Yul Vázquez

Executive Director/A.D.

David Bar Katz

Board Members

Judd Burstein

Jeffrey A. Horwitz (Chair)

David Bar Katz

Director of Creative Development

Laura Ramadei

The Relentless Subcommittee

Laura Ramadei (Chair)

Brett Aresco

Laura Been

Josh Boerman

Quinn Corbin

Lynnette Freeman

Cleo Gray

Carmen Herlihy

Emma Horwitz

Jax Jackson

Molly Marinik

Elia Monte-Brown

Anna O'Donoghue

Prentice Onayemi

Ronald Peet

Briana Pozner

Michael Robin

Joshua David Robinson

Emily Rubin

Jon Norman Schneider

Claire Siebers

Sathya Sridharan

Akyiaa Wilson

Sanford Wilson

Graphic Design

Georgia Rucker

Website Photos (portraits)

Monique Carboni


Matt Ross Public Relations

Matt Ross

Claire Wojciechowski



Proskauer Rose LLP


Anthony J. Bonsignore

Altman, Greenfield & Selvaggi LLP


Past Award Winners


The Relentless Reading series is in honor of Actor/Producer Ed Vassallo, a cherished member of the New York arts community for more than 20 years. A graduate of Union College and Brandeis University’s MFA program, Vassallo was an energetic and vital member of LAByrinth Theater Company, where he produced the TENN99 and NYNY festivals and served as the company appointed member to the Board. In addition to his work at LAByrinth, Vassallo was a dedicated volunteer and mentor at The 52nd Street Project.  Vassallo's producing credits include the short film F—K, which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival (2010), the award winning feature film King Kelly (2012), and the IFC/Sundance Selects film Days and Nights (2014). Vassallo died in February 2014 after a 2 ½ year battle with leukemia. As an artist, mentor, educator, and friend, his passion for theater and his loving and compassionate nature was and will always be a source of inspiration.

In honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman, who relentlessly sought out truth in his work and demanded the same from his collaborators, The American Playwriting Foundation has been established to make annual grants to new American plays.



© 2015 The American Playwriting Foundation