Press & Events

7/14/20: Obie Awards

2018 Relentless Award semifinalist play Our Dear Dead Drug Lord by Alexis Scheer receives two Obies — for Direction and Design!

1/7/20: Daily Bruin

Playwright Max Yu becomes first Chinese American to receive Relentless Award

12/26/19: Playbill

22-Year-Old Max Yu Wins American Playwriting Foundation's 2019 Relentless Award

12/24/19: The New York Times

Max Yu, Young Theater Graduate, Wins $45,000 Playwriting Prize (The Relentless Award 2019 prize announcement)

12/17/18: Time Out Magazine

The top ten theater productions of 2018 (featuring Relentless Award-winning plays Dance Nation and Is God Is)

12/13/18: The New York Times

Harrison David Rivers Wins 2018 Relentless Award (The Relentless Award 2018 prize announcement)

5/23/18: Midday on WNYC

'Dance Nation': A Comical Coming of Age (interview with 2015 Relentless Award winner, Clare Barron, and actor Ellen Maddow)

5/8/18: The New York Times

Review: ‘Dance Nation,’ the Power and the Terror of Girls at 13

Congratulations to 2015 Relentless Award winner, Clare Barron!

3/29/18: The New York Times

Women on Stage Get Their Turn on the Playing Field

Featuring two of our award-winners: Gracie Gardner and Sarah Delappe

2/18/18: The New York Times

Review: ‘Is God Is’ Reinvents the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Congratulations to award-winner, Aleshea Harris!

2/9/18: The New York Times

Your Week in Culture (Theater)

Featuring Gracie Gardner's 'Athena' and a nice mention of our award:

"The Relentless Award, an annual prize for unproduced plays that comes with a sweet $45,000, hasn’t been around long. Established in honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman and initially bestowed in 2015, it’s gone to only four winners so far. One of the first was Sarah DeLappe, for her now exuberantly lauded soccer play, “The Wolves.” People on the lookout for fierce talent and boldly adventuresome plays have learned to take a cue from the Relentless Award."


Gardner’s Pussy Sludge will receive staged readings at theatres throughout the country.


Incredibly Titled Play Pussy Sludge Wins American Playwriting Foundation Prize


Philip Seymour Hoffman $45K prize goes to Brooklyn playwright


Philip Seymour Hoffman $45K Tribute Award Will Go To Playwright Gracie Gardner

12/26/17: The New York Times

Gracie Gardner Wins Prize for Play With Unprintable Title (The Relentless Award 2017 prize announcement)


'The Wolves,' (by 2015 Relentless Award Winner Sarah DeLappe) took home an ensemble award at this year's Obie Awards—congratulations!

5/22/17: The New York Times

More on the Obie win for 'The Wolves'!


Lynn Nottage Wins Her Second Pulitzer Prize for Broadway’s ‘Sweat’ (Relentless Award Winner, THE WOLVES by Sarah DeLappe is a Finalist! And Relentless Selection Committee Member Lynn Nottage wins a *second* Pulitzer Prize for SWEAT.)


Aleshea Harris Receives American Playwriting Foundation's Relentless Award


Aleshea Harris is being celebrated this year for her 2016 play 'Is God Is'.

3/6/17: The New York Times

Blackburn Prize for Women Playwrights Goes to Clare Barron (Relentless Award Winning play DANCE NATION, by Clare Barron, receives another piece of worthy recognition: the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize! Relentless Semifinalist Jen Silverman is also recognized.)

10/23/16: The New York Times

Aleshea Harris Wins a Playwriting Prize for ‘Is God Is’ (The Relentless Award 2016 prize announcement)

8/10/16: The New York Times

‘The Wolves’ Uses Soccer to Visit a World of Teenage Girls (Relentless Award Winner Sarah DeLappe's production reviewed)

11/8/15: The New York Times

Two Playwrights Will Share Prize in Honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Relentless Award 2015 prize announcement)


Two Playwrights Earn New Award in Remembrance of Philip Seymour Hoffman

7/1/15: New York Daily News

Scripts expected to pour in for Relentless Award, a $45,000 prize for playwrights

1/30/15: Time Out New York

Philip Seymour Hoffman award gives new playwright $45K and coast-to-coast exposure


© 2015 The American Playwriting Foundation